Michigan growers license laws have changed to allow people to join the medical marijuana business as cultivators, processors, or testers. The license will enable you to produce, process and test medical marijuana products. It is essential that before you register for a grower’s right, you understand the process of applying for one and what it entails.
What is A Growers License?
A michigan growers license allows you to produce, process and test medical marijuana products. There are three different licenses under which a person can apply for: cultivator’s licenses, testing laboratory licenses or processor’s licenses.” “A cultivator’s license allows you to produce, process and test medical marijuana products. A processor’s license allows you to prepare medical marijuana products. Finally, a tester’s license allows you to perform quality testing on all the products grown or made by the cultivator.”
Who needs a grower’s license?
Anyone can apply for a michigan growers license, so there is no limit on how many people can open up an MMJ business in Michigan. However, there are some restrictions on the types of companies that can obtain one. The state requires a business plan before applying for a license. The fee to apply for the license is $6,000. The initial permit is valid for two years and expires on March 31, 2016.
What are your options for getting a Grower’s License?
- You can file as an individual applicant and join a cooperative after receiving your license if you choose to do so. If you enter a collaborative, you will be required to pay back taxes and fees and have your income reassessed at the time of applying with the state of Michigan. If you are interested in being part of a cooperative. It is best to speak with an experienced attorney or accountant before making this decision.
- You can form a corporation or group of corporations. The corporation needs to be started before applying for a license, and each corporation that is part of the group will need to apply for a permit. If you plan on using multiple corporations. It is best to speak with an experienced attorney or accountant before making this decision. The fee is $6,000 per application regardless of the number of corporations involved in the application process.
- You can apply as a new MMJ business entity. Using as a new business entity is that no applications are required other than the fee listed on this page. However, suppose you choose to become an existing medical marijuana business (MMJ dispensary, grow house, or operation). In that case, you must wait until the day before your license expires to apply for a grower’s license with the state of Michigan.
Suppose you are interesting in part of an MMJ dispensary or operating a grow house under medicinal use. In that case, it is best to speak with an experienced attorney or accountant before making this decision.
How do I register as a Grower’s License holder?
An individual or group of individuals who want to apply for a michigan growers license must sign up to complete the required application by clicking on the link below. When you complete the application. you need to require to pay the $6,000 fee in full. If you are applying as part of a cooperative, corporation or new business entity, each individual or corporation must pay $6,000 to be process. When you submit your application, the state of Michigan will review it, and the staff may contact you for additional information or clarification.
There is a processing time of 6-8 weeks for the state to review your application and make any necessary changes before approving or denying your application. It is important to note that once the form has approve or denie your application, you cannot resubmit before the set date. Read more here.
How to apply for Michigan Growers License?
Step 1: Find and apply for classification.
Michigan’s laws have changed to allow people to enter the medical marijuana business as cultivators, processors or testers. A license will enable you to produce, process, and test medical marijuana products but not sell products for profit. The classifications are outline below.
Step 2: Apply for a grower’s license.
The state requires a business plan before applying for a license.
Step 3: Get certified
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA.
Step 4: Apply for licensing with the state of Michigan.
Then Click to apply for licensing.
What are the benefits of getting a Growers License?
There are some benefits in applying for a michigan growers license, but not enough to outweigh the disadvantages. First and foremost, you will have the ability to produce, process and test all your products in Michigan. You will also open up an MMJ dispensary business or grow house operation under medicinal use. With any of these methods, you can process and test your products without fear of shut down or raide law enforcement or local government officials. If you choose to form a cooperative after receiving your license. You can do so without fear of losing the money that you’ve invested into your LLC.